Kickstarter Update – Rank & File Volumes 2 & 3

Here is a quick update on one of the active Kickstarters going on right now.  If you haven’t got in on the action check out the email below and head over to Kickstarter to back it.  As of this posting the Kickstarter is at 72% funded with 8 days to go.
Email from  James M. Kavanaugh Jr.
Hi all!  The Kickstarter is currently at 42%.  That’s great but we only have ten days left, I know we can drive it home!  A successful Kickstarter is the only way a reprint with updates will be available within the near future.  This includes having copies available at the 2018 Joe Con this year in Chattanooga. I’m not trying to be conditional or seem negative, I just want people who are on the fence to know how important this Kickstarter is to fund.
But on a brighter side, these volumes will now be updated, corrected, and fully reflect our journey through the 4″ G.I. Joe toy line.  These guides are perfect for completing collections or to seemingly hold an entire collection in your hands all at once.  Let’s continue to make the Rank & File guide series available for G.I. Joe collectors and enthusiasts!
Thanks for any and all contributions!!
James M. Kavanaugh Jr.
Owner/Author of R.A.H.C. Guidebooks
Thanks for your support!!

Ready, Set, Kickstarter – Marauder Task Force WWII Kickstarter Launch

The Marauder Task Force WWII Kickstarter has launched and as of this writing is almost funded.  The Kickstarter currently sits at $53,481 pledged of the $64,000 goal with 29 days left.  Marauder Gun Runners has already had many successful Kickstarter campaigns in the Marauder Task Force series.  With the new Kickstarter they bring us some amazing WWII Action Figures.  The campaign has levels for everyone to get involved.  Jump in at $20 and choose from one of the following: US Rifleman, US Marine Bar Gunner, Japanese Army Rifleman, or a Japanese NCO Officer or go all in at $699 and and snag one of everything.  Those two options don’t entice you? Then jump in at one of the many other levels of this amazing Kickstarter.  You have 29 days to get involved but don’t wait till the last minute.  You are going to want to be part of this.


5c143af3384a90bb3530aabe29af0b37_original 9aa0c69935729e3a4fc8ad3ea19f5d7f_original 510ad6a431c41fd4588a96710e2fd04e_original 2970398d8ee9f672a6077a5cccef5320_original


Slaughter’s Marauders Spirit Iron-Knife & Freedom

The club keeps the reveals flowing and gives us a look at Slaughter’s Marauders Spirit Iron-Knife & Freedom.  Spirit has an exclusive new head sculpt and it looks great.  I really think this is my favorite figure in the set up to this point.  The ponytail head sculpt on the figure gives this version of Spirit a unique look that I don’t believe we have had before with Spirit.  Spirit will come in the standard Slaughter’s Marauders deco that we have seen with the rest of the team.  Another great looking figure to go with the rest of the Marauders.

SpiritBack SpiritFront

Python Patrol Laser Trooper: Python Laser Viper

The Club previewed the Python Patrol Laser Trooper: Python Laser Viper today.  The figure is based off the 2003 design and will have a retooled backpack and weapons system.  The set will include three figures making this the third army builder of the set.  It’s another fantastic looking figure that will have a removable helmet and the dual cannon laser backpack will look great on the figure especially being an army builder giving it a very menacing look on the battle field.  With the three Army Builders revealed we are getting close to the final reveals on the set and things are starting to take shape.  Keep watching the site and and we will keep you posted on the next reveals when we see them.  Check below for a complete view of the figures previewed so far.



– 25th Anniversary Style/Fully Poseable Action Figure.
– Modern Era Update of Character based on 2003 design.
– Features RE-TOOL of Laser Backpack Weapons System
– THREE Army Builder action figures in this exclusive set.
– Includes removable helmet, dual cannon laser backpack,
connection hoses (not shown), adjustable control arm,
holster with pistol, and Cobra Logo Stand.

Here is an updated shot of the figures shown up to this point.


Action Man Comes to Hollywood

Deadline reported today that Paramount Players is developing a film based on Action Man, Hasbro’s UK version of GI Joe.  The film will be directed by James Bobin who directed The Muppets’ and Alice Through the Looking Glass.  The script will be written by Simon Farnaby who wrote Paddington 2.  According to the article Deadline attempted to reach out to Paramount and Hasbro but where unable to get a comment in regards to the film.  Check out the full article at  The article didn’t have much more to say and it will be interesting to see what comes of this and if this will fit into Hasbro’s combined universe.  Keep an eye out for more information as it is released.


Congratulations Are In Order…

I wanted to be the first to officially congratulate Justin Bell on his successful Kickstarter for Duck Duck Goose.  Duck Duck Goose is Crime Thriller written and published by General Joe’s Justin Bell.  Justin has always been there for the Joe community and has now ventured out on the new endeavor as an author.   

It is great to see the Kickstarter funded and this first hurdle over for Justin.  Again a huge congratulations to Justin and a huge thanks to everyone who backed the Kickstarter.


Sectaurs Warriors of Symbion

Hey guys so some exciting Kickstarter news.  Zica Toys launched their Kickstarter campaign a few days ago for Sectuars Warriors of Symbion.  They are already half way to their goal of $40,000 with 25 days to go.  Zica has been teasing us with news of the Sectaurs for around 10 months now and finally it’s our chance to get in on this.  Sectaurs is of course based on the 1985 action figure line released by Coleco.  The line was short lived and never made it past the first wave but now we have a chance to remedy that by getting Zica off the ground.  One of the best parts of this Kickstarter is that Zica has adjusted the figures down from their original larger size down to the 1/18th (4”) scale.  The first two figures in the lineup are Dargon and General Spidrax, the main hero and villain of the series.  They are offering these as a two pack or by themselves.  Get in on this early and let’s help get this campaign fully funded.

Jump on over to Kickstarter and read more about the campaign and the Sectaurs.  Also, check out Zica Toy’s Facebook page to see pictures of additional waves of figures.


We interrupt your normally scheduled G.I. Joe news for an important announcement…

A couple of weeks back, I posted an honest and forthright update on GeneralsJoes and how my priorities were shaping up.  I had elected to relax on the toy stuff for a bit and refocus my energies on writing.

To my pleasant surprise, everyone was extremely supportive.  A few folks (Josh, Almon, and Ken you guys ROCK) have even stepped up to volunteer to help with coverage on the site.  It’s been pretty amazing.

Now many of the supportive messages I received wished me luck on my writing endeavors and wanting me to focus on things that made me happy.  To that end, I did want to take a moment to announce that I’m running a Kickstarter campaign for a new Crime/Thriller novel and if you enjoy what I’ve done with my dio-stories and Kindle Worlds fiction, I think you’ll really love this, too.  I’m actually already over halfway through it, there are a measly two weeks left, and I stand at 66% funded.  Lots of awesome friends and thriller lovers have stepped up and things have moved along great, but I’d love a boost as we move forward towards a big finish.

If you’re interested in supporting me or my writing, or even just want a kick ass new thriller novel to read, please consider backing the project.  I think anyone reading this will really enjoy it, and it would mean a TON to me personally to be able to bring this project to life.

Thank you all so much.  Back to your regularly scheduled toy news! 


Duck Duck Goose is a crime/thriller featuring female protagonist Rosa “Goose” Guzman and is the beginning of a new chapter for me as an author with a shift towards realistic thrillers in the vein of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher and James Patterson’s Alex Cross. 

Rosa Guzman is a child of the streets of Springfield, Massachusetts who has been working her whole life to distance herself from her criminal past. Once a member of an East Coast gang, then enlisted in the United States Army, Rosa keeps on running into obstacles on her quest for redemption. Discharged from the military and back in her old neighborhood she now works as a Fugitive Recovery Agent, operating alongside law enforcement to locate and bring in criminals and fugitives from justice.  

When a real estate mogul and local businessman enlists her aid in finding a former employee, Rosa gets embroiled in a sinister cover up and is thrust back into her old life, reliving painful old memories. As she is drawn deeper into this conspiracy, uncomfortable truths emerge between her and the man she’s been paid to find, and the secrets buried there will change her life forever.  

Boss Fight Studio announces new Vitruvian BASIC line!

When Boss Fight revealed the first look at their upcoming Skeleton Warrior, they included a little clue with their images, with what looked to be an official store image of the Skeleton labeled “Basic”.  That started the rumor mill churning a bit, and today that rumor mill has been confirmed.

Boss Fight Studio revealed the first three figures in their new “Vitruvian BASIC” series today, a (hopefully) ongoing line of reduced paint apps and reduced accessory figures at a reduced price.  Retailing at just 19.99 these three figures will be available for pre-order as of October 22nd at!

This is exciting news for army builders as these three figures have a great army building look and feel, and will also provide a less expensive alternative to potential custom material from Series 2.  Check out the figures below, and make sure your trigger finger is hovering on October 22nd for these first three figures, then again on October 31st for the VERY limited release of the Skeleton!